h1

Knitting fates

October 5, 2010

I noticed it the first day.

It seems the knitting fates are against me when it comes to the October socks. No matter how many times I try, the socks do not fit my feet. I have the right yarn weight and gauge, I am following the pattern correctly, I am doing everything humanly possible to try and get these socks to fit my feet.  I have even tried casting on for all the other various sizes, and still these socks refuse to fit my feet. *Sigh*

So finally today, after many hours, days and it seems a lifetime of knitting down the drain I have decided that the October socks will just be plain jane stockinette socks. At least I know those socks will fit my feet. But, I am curious to know what other people would do if they were in my situation.

Dear potential socks,

I ask you to please become socks that fit my feet.  I know I will not be able to work on you all the time, and for that I am sorry.  But instead of growing fangs and glaring at the storebought socks, please be a gentleman (or lady) and be respectful of the other socks. Because until “you” decide you want to be socks. I am stuck wearing the storebought socks.

The knitter sitting on the chasterfield, looking at you lovingly.

~Ayla

Leave a Reply

