h1

Update on test knit and Chainmaille pliers

January 17, 2011

Apparently I knitted the shawl wrong, I am not a happy lady. But the good news is, is that I have an extension (Yay!) and IT FINALLY LOOKS RIGHT!!!!

*Ahem* please forgive the yelling, but I am happy!

In other news, I have been doing chainmaille for a little over a month now and I though I would tell you a little bit about it.

First What is chainmaille?

Chainmaille or maille is a type of armour consisting of small metal rings linked together in a pattern to form a mesh. But it is also used to make jewelry. (I do both)

What is required to do chainmaille?

Well first you need pliers, two pliers to be exact. It doesnt really matter what type as long as they do the job you want them to. For jewelry and armour I recommend flatnose and bent nose, if you need other pliers like chain nose,  needle nose, ect by all means get them. I personally use flat and bent nose pliers, but if you ask 5 chainmaillers what type of pliers they use and why, you will get 5 different answers. In all honesty use what you are comfortable with but please make sure you like the handles and get pliers that have a spring, it makes it not only easier to do chainmaille but getting pliers with springs really does save your hands in my opinion.

Wire (to make rings) or premade rings. Honestly I only work with stainless steel and titanium rings that I make or buy from the ring lord. But the type of metal you use, is really up to you.

And lastly, you need to learn some basic weaves. Some weaves I recommend for beginners are:

1 in 1 (and other varients like 2 in 2, 3 in 3, 2 in 3 ect) (scroll down to for our students and click on it, the 2 in 2 and 3 in 3 are in the first colum, the 1 in 1 is referred to as cable chain and is in the 6th from the top ((in the first colum)) The weaves below are also on this site.)

European 4 in 1 (located in the second colum, its the first one listed)

Byzantine (located in the first colum, fifth from the top)

Helm also known as Parallel chain (located in the third colum, third from the top)

Here is a picture of my helm chain bracelet I recently made:

Happy knittting (or Chainmailling)!!!

Leave a Reply

