h1

The christmas knitting goes slowly

December 11, 2011

I have been working on christmas knitting for awhile now, I honestly don’t think I have that much to knit. However one of the projects goes very slowly and I am trying to figure out what to do. I am knitting the monk hat on size 8 (5mm) needles. It is circular, and granted shouldn’t take very long but it is. I have more stitches granted but I do not think it is the stitches fault. I believe that it is the acrylic yarn I am using. Normally I would use a fiber like alpaca or wool. But my mother in law is allergic to wool (and I don’t have alpaca in the colors she wants). In actuality she requested these colors and I went with it. Thinking “This should work up fast and be no problem at all”

How wrong I was. Normally I can finish a hat in a day (depending on the pattern). But this one goes slowly, and it hurts my hands if I work on it for too long. So what should I do? Rip it out and use bigger needles? Although I don’t really want to do that. I want it to be nice and as toasty warm as it can be. *Sigh* I will have to think about how to approach this. Well I hope your christmas knitting is going more smoothly then mine is. Stay warm, my dear knitters.

Leave a Reply

